Pros and Cons of Storing Test Data in a Database VS. Excel

Hello,

I am fairly new to Katalon. I was hoping someone could help determine how test data should be stored for because there is very little information elsewhere.

I know there are 4 different data types for storing test data: Internal datafile, CSV, Excel, and External Database. After some investigating, Excel and the External Database appear to have the most functionality.

However, without access to an external database I cannot test that method.

Would an external database only be needed if I have a giant amount of test data?

Could someone help provide some insight into which method is better, or the pros and cons of both?

Thank you.

@ganish.toolsie I personally feel having an external database would be much more easier for you to read and write. Spinning up a database on AWS wouldn’t cost much. I am not a fan of internal datafiles as writing to them is really difficult. Excel is also a good approach and there are free plugins available that can make reading writing easier to excel.

you can spin-up a mysql database in just one command, on your local machine. read about docker. it works on windows too, not only on linux.
just saying …

Thanks Manpreet! Agreed, the internal datafiles are just… terrible. Do you see any benefit of using a database over Excel?

Sadlly, I don’t think I have access to do something like that, but I can check. Thanks Ibus!

hi,

Postgres database

https://www.postgresql.org

every test automation engineers should know how the postgres will work :slight_smile:

Use databases. Use Excel.
Use data classes.
Less moving parts.

provided you will figure out how to install docker, once this is done just follow the link:

https://hub.docker.com/_/mysql

there are already prepared images for postgres too. or whatever opensource toys you need. simply use them, once done, destroy the container

one day i will write a demo on using sqlite with katalon …
but not yet :stuck_out_tongue: