How to select a drop-down menu when the XPath IDs change with each page load

Good afternoon. I’m a novice Katalon Recorder user with limited programming experience.

I’m having trouble selecting a drop-down menu. I noticed that the XPath ID changes (F12 in Google Chrome) every time I load up the form. I believe this is called Dynamic Variable of Data Driven?

The labeling of the 2 drop down menu options are always consistent : “Private Passenger Auto” and “Commerical Truck” but the IDs in the Xpath seem to always have random numbers with each new load of the form. The URL is always the same, FYI

On the next page of the form, I am having trouble entering the First Name and Last Name because the X Path IDs change. For example, it will be named “id = LastName12344” then if I reload the form again it would be “id = LastName456456” so how can I get Katalon Recorder

Can you please help? I’m happy to provide screenshots and xpathcode using F12. I apologize in advance if this question has already been posted. Thank you

Katalon recorder 6.01
Windows 10 64 bit
Google Chrome

1 Like

Hi there,

Thank you very much for your topic. Please note that it may take a little while before a member of our community or from Katalon team responds to you.

Thanks!

As you have noted, dynamic attributes will change every time you load up the form. You may have to manually create a pathway for these objects. Since there is text within the last name’s <id> attribute that seems to be stable, for your pathway you could try:
//*[contains(@id, "LastName")]
or
//*[starts-with(@id, "LastName")]
(Note: I had to use the asterisk as you did not show the tag associated with the <id> attribute)

Perhaps you could do something similar with the first name.

Another idea is to review the HTML of the application and see if there are any other attributes, like <name> that is/are stable.