Dynamic xpath for Drop down

Hi guys,

I’m very new to Katalon Web Testing and I’m trying to get the dynamically get the xpath in my application.
I’ve a drop-down list (list of locations).
My application can access different instances by changing the url. Functionality for each instance remains the same. But, the list of locations for each instance may be different. I’m trying to search for a location say, A-ABC on my first instance and record the testing it works fine when i play it. But when I run the same test case on another instance it fails to find that location, because i the second instance the Location lies in a different list index.

Eg:

1. Xpath for 1st instance-> //*[@id=“main”]/div[1]/div[1]/div[3]/div/div/ul/li[7]/a/span[1]
  2. Xpath for 2nd instance-> //*[@id=“main”]/div[1]/div[1]/div[3]/div/div/ul/li[8]/a/span[1]

So, the li index has changed from 7 to 8 from first instance to second.
Can someone help me find a solution to run my application without having to manually change the xpath every time i switch between the instances.

1 Like

Maybe try to define a list of elements… and depends of instance operate on them.

1 Like

This might help,

l1: for (int j = 1; j < 11; j++)
 {
    String location= (' //*[@id=“main”]/div[1]/div[1]/div[3]/div/div/ul/li[' + j) + ']/a/span[1]'

locationObj = WebUI.modifyObjectProperty(findTestObject('Object Repository/ICW_SideMenu/MenuItem/menuitem'), 'xpath', 'equals', 
       location, true);

String locationtext = WebUI.getText(locationObj);

if (locationtext == 'Enter Your location') {
        WebUI.click(locationObj)

j = 11
}

}
1 Like

Hi,

You should try to identify more attributes in your XPath so that it is not influenced when the instance is restarted.
I don’t know the contents of the page you are automating (that would have helped a lot) but adding more attributes to the XPath would help in your issue.