Continue Recording with "Record Web" after PlayBack in an open window

Hello,

i am a newbie to Katalon, so maybe I just did a mistake here.

I managed to record and play back test cases without any problem. After the play back I couldn’t start “Record Web” again. As far as i understood I had to install the “Katalon Recorder (Selenium IDE for Chrome) 3.1.2” extension, which I did. The extension is active (in the toolbar) when I start a “normal” chrome window. The general Chrome option “More tools” - “Manage Extension” and the “Manage extensions” option using the tool bar icon of the “Katalon Recorder” is accessible to manage all chrome extensions as usual.

On the other hand, when the window is generated using Katalon Studio by playing back a test case the only extension available is the “Chrome Automation Extension”. Even the general Chrome option “More tools” - “Manage Extension” is grayed out in that Chrome windows. When trying to access the other extensions using the “Chrome Automation Extension” tool bar icon the only extension shown is the “Chrome Automation Extension”.

When using the “Web Recorder” of “Katalon Studio” now and trying to record using “Active Browsers” - “Chrome” option a dialog is always shown that I either have to “Install extension” or “Continue recording”.

The “Install extension” option leads me to the extension page of “Katalon Recorder (Selenium IDE for Chrome) 3.1.2”.

When I choose “Continue recording” and “Record (active browser)” is shown in the top bar of the “Web Recorder” I can only record from the “normal” chrome windows (not opened with Katalon Studio") but NOT from the window generated by the playback in Katalon studio. But what I want is obviously the other way around - to start from where the playback ended and extent the test case.

How can I do that? Maybe it’s very simple but it’s not obvious to me.

Thanks for your help
Andreas

2 Likes