When comparing Katalon and Selenium, What is the best automation tool and why say so?

I’m new to test automation and need to select the best tool to automate my application. The application is a web-based application and it contains data entering and data viewing functionalities. So I need to know the best and most speedy tool.

1 Like

Hi there,

Thank you very much for your topic. Please note that it may take a little while before a member of our community or from Katalon team responds to you.

Thanks!

Hi @chamathwije ,

Welcome to our community and automation world. You can figure out information about testing web app with Katalon here:

Especially, Katalo offers great record & replay, drag & drop functions. Let’s hear from others to share their experience in both Katalon and Selenium. :sparkling_heart:

2 Likes

I believe Mike @mverinder, our Chief Community Advocate, can help provide some insights for this question as he also runs a Selenium user group :+1:

1 Like

Hey @chamathwije
Thanks for taking the time to post.
I think I could write a book on this, but I’ll try to keep things at the “Cliff Note” level.

First, it’s important to remember that Katalon uses Selenium on the backend. We recognize the value that Selenium brings. We are just committed to making it even better for you. Some of the ways listed below are a part of that.

1. Teams can actually automate quicker and in a less buggy fashion.
  2. Teams don’t have to deal with setting up a custom framework (which they will need to do if starting with Selenium from scratch).
  3. because everyone is working on the same framework which is maintained for you, this enables.
    a. You won’t have the same deep-level maintenance that you would if starting from scratch. Selenium bug fixes and version upgrades are all handled by Katalon on the backend. (Basically, your Technical Debt is significantly reduced.)