Unable to Capture objects | ExecutionException | java.lang.NullPointerException

Everytime i run the Mobile Recorder with my device, i keep facing this problem. As you can see in the screenshot below, when i click the Start button it’s running and the apk is opening on my device but after that the dialog error box appears.

Any solution for this? I’m new in automation testing, thank you in advance.

Capture.PNG

22222222.PNG

Hi,

1 Like

Ctof said:

Hi,
Appium 1.9.0 - Katalon Studio - Katalon Community
Error in capturing objects - Katalon Studio - Katalon Community

when u rolled it back, did it works?

thanks a lot, it works

i’m facing with this issue. i’m using katalon version 5.10.1 and appium 1.9.1.
how can i solve this problem?

Hi @jsornjun,

Can you try downgrading to Appium 1.8.1, since Katalon Studio 5.10.1 only supports up to that version:

npm install -g appium@1.8.1

Hope this helps,

Chris

2 Likes

thanks, it’s works.

1 Like

Hi,
I have the same issue. i setup appium 1.8.0, katalon 5.10.1 but it don’t work!
Can you helps me!

Posting this in case any one else comes across this issue:

For the best compatibility with Katalon Studio, you’ll need to use Appium server 1.8.1. If you installed Appium Desktop, the version numbering doesn’t line up, so you’ll need Appium Desktop 1.6.3 (which comes with the 1.8.1 server).

You can install Appium server using npm install -g appium@1.8.1 or Appium Desktop by finding an installer at:

hi @Chris_Trevarthen

I tried to record mobile on Katalon studio but it doesn’t work. Error Message:

" Unable to Capture Objects
Reason :
ExecutionException

Details >>
java.lang.NullPointerException "

I’m using katalon studio version 6.1.0 and appium 1.12.1. Is the problem because of their versions?

Can you help me? Thanks in advance.

Hi @sekar.stickearn,

Yes, the versions you listed are incompatible. You can try Appium Server 1.8.1 to work with Katalon Studio 6.1.0.