Prompt for user input then add value to a variable

Hoping you can help - I am new to Katalon and still learning the ropes.

I need to be able to add a prompt, for user input, into a Web UI script.
The value entered into the prompt by the user running the script at runtime, then needs to be stored into a variable, that I can use within the script at a later point (SetText in a field).
The variable is called “MFACode”

Please can you help? Is this possible and if so, what is the code to achieve this?

Thanks in advance!

That’s a bit counter intuitive to automated testing.
My only ideahere would be to have a batch file asking for user input and starting the test with a specific global variable.

I appreciate your quick response. Here is my scenario to give some context,which is to test a login process with multi-factor authentication

1). Login to web site using Username and password chars x, y and z as requested
2). A randomly generated code is sent to a registered mobile phone as SMS (“MFACode”)
3). User needs to enter code to complete login process

Open to suggestions as to how Katalon studio could support this!

1. Should be easy enough to do. Register username and password object and use setText().
  2. Many possibilities for this. I think it should be done server side to bypass the generated code during automated testing. It’s similar to the captcha plugin.
    However, if there’s a way to access your MFACode from another website (so you could navigate there and get it) or someway to write your MFACode in a texte file or a database, you can then read the file and write the code.

Basically Katalon Studio is limited to what you can develop. In my applications, things like 2FA, passwords, captcha are removed in testing environment.

I have the same issue as discussed here. I am very new to Katalon and would appreciate an example of how to accomplish this. Has anyone ever come up with an actual coded solution?