How "geeky" are you? 🤓

Just did the quiz and turns out I am only 25% geeky :smiling_face_with_tear: . Though to be fair the quiz did contain quite a few references I have not heard of like the Sci-Fi channel, Mensa, believing in “The Force”, etc.

Try the quiz and see how “geeky” you are at:

2 Likes

Or maybe try this quiz as spotted by @Mark_Gibson:

https://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php

https://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php

Alas I am still a noob :smiling_face_with_tear:

Just wondering if you have ever been referred to as a “geek” before?

I do notice that people often use the terms “nerd” and “geek” rather interchangeably (or maybe it is just me), although “nerd” carries a more negative connotation than “geek”, which is a term people claim for themselves instead of being imposed upon by others.

If given the choice, would you want to be called a “nerd”, or “geek”, or both? :grinning:

Too many times to count.

Yeah, nerd does have a little more negativity associated with it – depends on the context though, and who is doing the name-calling.

1 Like

I like to name myself a “geek” when I wanna piss off my wife (or not in mood to work in the garden)

I cannot be named a “nerd” since i ware my eye-glasses only when working at PC (altough i should were all the time) and I grow a beard.

Does it counts?

Usually, from what I saw, ‘nerd’ is same as ‘geek’ but with a bad connotation (applies a bullying level top of it)

And ofcourse, everything depends on the social context, the intonation etc etc

At a high level, the term ‘nerd’ may be applied to the Brick character in “The Middle” TV series.
ref: The Middle (TV Series 2009–2018) - IMDb

He is smart, but all the times reading etc etc. He knows lot of stuff but have some difficullties to addapt to the society, somehow he create his own world.
Nobody see a future for what he is doing, they treat him as hopeless.
Or more probably to his sister, Sue.