1 text field of 4 errors with "not Interactable" has JavaScript Listener attached

Greetings,

I’m new to the Katalon Studio and have what I hope is a simple issue to overcome.

I’ve looked in the docs, checked the forum for similar post, read the ones I can find, but haven’t been able to overcome this issue.

The issue is, I have 4 text fields on a simple screen, 3 of them work perfectly in setting input to them. The 4 errors out as element not interactable, and the only difference in the 4th field from the other 3 is the 4th field has a JavaScript Event Listener attached to it for focusin.

I attempted to place a WebUI.focus event directly before the WebUI.setText event, but the focus event gives the same error as the setText, so obviously, I’m missing something.

Any direction would be appreciated.

In essence, the field is “not ready”. Did you try the waiting APIs? Basically, waiting for things to be present/visible and ready is something you need to do frequently – hell, always is safer.

Start here, and check item 3…

https://docs.katalon.com/katalon-studio/docs/troubleshooting-common-issues-related-to-interacting-with-an-element.html

Hey Russ,

Thanks for the reply.

Yes I did try placing a waitForElementVisible in front of the focus just for kicks, but that command times out after the 20 second interval I specify saying the element isn’t visible.

It’s strange, as this is the 6th or 7th field that is to populate on the screen, all others work perfectly.

Let’s not worry about those kind of things, this is a general problem, rarely a specific/special one.

What happens if you try to wait for its presence? Does that time out?

1. Present: element is present in the DOM.
  2. Visible: element is present AND visible.

Ah, that is something I had NOT tried.

1. Present passes
  2. Visibile fails

2019-06-07 16:20:49.163 DEBUG testcase.Login - 27: waitForElementPresent(findTestObject(“Page_Dashboard - User Dashboard/input__cellphone”), 10)