Simple way to find and interact with elements

Hi, I am fairly new to Katalon/Selenium, having worked mostly with Cypress in the past. In cypress finding elements is pretty straight forward and I am trying to use Katalon in a similar way but I often find that an element cannot be found.

For this element for instance (an email verification button after a new user has been created), the xpath constantly changes due to a random user ID being added to the href:

href="http://localhost:3500/email-verification/a63a2b24-b785-4b18-b104-83283670b920?email=test%40aurem.ae"

In cypress I could easily click the button with following code:

cy.findAllByRole("link", { name: /Verify email/i })
        .eq(0)
        .should("be.visible");

cy.findAllByRole("link", { name: /Verify email/i }).click();

How can I achieve something similar with Katalon?

1 Like

Hi there,

Thank you very much for your topic. Please note that it may take a little while before a member of our community or from Katalon team responds to you.

Thanks!

I don’t understand your Cypress bit of “{name: ‘Verify email/i’ }” but otherwise, I might do something like:

import org.openqa.selenium.WebDriver as WebDriver
import org.openqa.selenium.WebElement as WebElement
import com.kms.katalon.core.webui.driver.DriverFactory as DriverFactory
import com.kms.katalon.core.webui.keyword.WebUiBuiltInKeywords as WebUI

WebDriver driver = DriverFactory.getWebDriver();

WebElement element = driver.findElement(By.xpath("//button[contains(@href,'/email-verification/') and contains(@href, 'email=test')]"));
assertTrue (element.isDisplayed())
WebUI.verifyMatch(element.isDisplayed().toString(), "true", false)
element.click()

Edit: if there is a <name> attribute somewhere in your HTML that you did not show, then you might be able to use that to find a unique pathway to your element.

Basically with Cypress (and a plugin called test library) I can easily fetch elements by their role and name, so things like: