Looking for tools to measure code coverage

Can anyone recommend a tool that will measure the code coverage of my Katalon tests? Can a tool like Clover be used with Katalon?

Appreciate any suggestions.
Thanks!
D

1 Like

Code coverage make sense with unit testing.
Katalon is designed for functional testing, e.g ā€˜blacbox testā€™, trying to be abstract wrt AUT code

Iā€™m looking at it from the QA side of things. We use Katalon extensively to test our web application - all user scenario based test cases. The executive team always questions the code coverage of our testsā€¦ As a Manager, I would love to be able to provide that for them let alone have a way to truly evaluate our automated test suite(s) not so much the application.

1 Like

well ā€¦ the executive team is just executive, they use concepts with no sense from functional testing point of view :slight_smile:

Coverability, with functional testing, is given by how many test scenarioā€™s you have for a certain feature/module: positive workflows (happy path), negative scenarios, boundary tests, data driven tests and so on.
Also, by how many suite types: new feature/module test, smoke, regression, integration tests, end-to-end etc.

code coverage is the measurement of how many line of code the unit test covered (e.g, how many method involved in the unit test code). And the test that Katalon executed is called E2E testing that test on the system (the black box) itself, not the code. So there is no way that you can calculate the coverage percent in traditional way.

But you might, in the worst case that the executive team insist on having the coverage number, you can define new way to calculate the coverage by how many module thatā€™s been tested by your automation suites.

1 Like

How about coverage from Katalon itself to make sure when we run the full regression we donā€™t have dormant test code that is not being executed ā€¦ this will help in cleaning the test project.

@nhussein