I am trying to parameterize a checkbox. But its giving an error

I am new to katalon . I am trying to click a checkbox by comparing values i gave in a excel sheet. For now only compairing row 1.

Calling above groovy method ifrom a test case:

excel - using the last two columns for this particular method:-image

I am getting below error everytime i try to execute it.

@sahame1989

I sincerely hope you’re not suffering from the same Groovy bug I encountered recently.

Since you are passing integers, then comparing with integers, first try altering the keyword to use int:

def clickValidCheckboxes(int isLicensed, int permission_req) { ... ```

@ThanhTo @devalex88 I think you know why I’m calling you in. Looks similar - at least the error. But shouldn’t the boxing (auto-casting/coercion) work here?

Hi @sahame1989

Can you try to add a static keyword before the function annotated with @keyword to see if it resolves the issue ? I will try to reproduce this as you’ve provided a rather generic method. Thanks for that !

@Russ_Thomas I have a hunch that the “staticness” plays a role in eradicating this error.

For now, the only consistent workaround I can think of is to strive for code as statically typed as Java as possible. Meaning you should write

int isLicensed = findTestData("....").getValue("isLicense",1);
int permissin_req = findTestData("....").getValue("permission_req", 1);
CustomKeywords.`yourMethod`(isLicensed, permission_req);
1 Like

I tried many things but nothing has worked. I discovered that i needed to declare the variables and I did the same. But I was still getting a type cast error. i used the valueOf{} to parse the excel input from last two columns. but it still doesn’t work.

There are a number of issues with your code that you should fix before we move on to discussing issues with its purpose.