How to wait on javascript executor call in @Keyword method

Hello,
I am new to Katalon and I have a question on the best approach for a @Keyword.

Basically, in the @Keyword I need to wait using a timeout period until a javascript executor call returns a true value.

In my test case, I will call a @Keyword that will make a javascript executor call which does “some evaluation” on the webpage. When the javascript executor call is done processing on
the webpage, it returns true and then the @Keyword returns true to the test case. If the javascript executor call does not return true before the time out period expires, then the
@Keyword will return false to the test case.

So in @Keyword:

• make the javascript executor call and wait for a specified timeout period
  • if the javascript executor call returns true before the time out expires, return true to the test case
  • else if the time out expires before the javascript executor call returns a value, then return false to the test case

Thank you for any guidance on a best approach!

I can help you with this - I do this a lot. Unfortunately, I need to head out… if you can give me 10-12 hours, I’ll look in again.

Hello Russ_Thomas,
Any information you could provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Does anyone have information on how to do this???

Sorry @jmartinelli, I completely forgot about this.

Before we go ahead, I have one very key question:

Is the JavaScript code running synchronously or asynchronously?

Hello! No problem, we all get busy.

It would be synchronous .

They both can be mastered, but synchronous is far easier. In fact, you don’t need any “special code”, you can just call the JavaScript function and read the response.

String js = 'return yourJavaScriptFunction();'
boolean result = (boolean) WebUI.executeJavaScript(js, null);
println result // true or false