How do you pass variables into queries for – Dynamic Data-Driven testing

I am very new to automation, I am trying to setup dynamic values in my automation. I’ve got some set up with nightwatch.js and I’m attempting to move my testing to Katalon studio.

I want to query my db for data and then pass results into variable. Then use these variables in another query.

For example, user and customer.

I query the postgres DB for a user meeting certain criteria. This username is passed into the login field and chosen at random. This part I figured out, but then I need to get the user’s name or customer. So I would pass the username into the query to find their name or pass into a query to get that username’s customer list.

How would I do this? I found a way to do this with promise in nightwatch.js but don’t know how to do it in katalon studio.

What I have done so far is this:

• setup data file
  • data file is for DB
  • data file has query to find username (query does RANDOM())
  • in test case I define in variable view result
so how would I pass this value into another query? I want to create all my testing as dynamic, any user with x conditions and then any customer from that user with x conditions. This way everytime I run the test it choose a new user or customer but still meets my criteria for considering the test passed
1 Like

I don’t think I understand…I am brand new to Katalon and have no Java experience at all. I have only just started working with Javascript and VBScripts but know very little. I ended up creating a Data File and ran a join query to get multiple rows. I then defined each variable based upon a different column but same row so the data is linked together. This is not my ideal solution but has worked so far.

Hi there,

So sorry for the late response. It depends on your purpose so you can put the code in any test case or any custom keyword. Below is my explanation of the code:

import com.kms.katalon.core.testdata.DBData