Download file from web to desktop using Chrome

Hi all,

I am new to Katalon Studio. I can’t figure out how to download PDF file from web to my Downloads folder in windows.
When i click on download button, new chrome window is opened. In that window i have my pdf document. In top right corner there is this icon for file download. I wasn’t able to click on it, so i used sendKeys to simulate CTRL+S

WebUI.sendKeys(findTestObject(‘Page_f’), Keys.chord(Keys.CONTROL, ‘s’))

That worked but now i have another problem.
Windows explorer SAVE AS window pops up and i am not able to click on SAVE because this is windows native dialog.

How can i download pdf document?
Can i somehow simulate key press on SAVE button in windows dialog?

download.PNG

download_windows.PNG

I was able to solve it. I imported two java classes.

import java.awt.Robot;

import java.awt.event.KeyEvent;

and wrote this

Robot r = new Robot();

r.keyPress(KeyEvent.VK_ENTER);

r.keyRelease(KeyEvent.VK_ENTER);

And now this is what i have in my code:

WebUI.sendKeys(findTestObject(‘Page_f’), Keys.chord(Keys.CONTROL, ‘s’))

WebUI.delay(2)

Robot r = new Robot();

r.keyPress(KeyEvent.VK_ENTER);

r.keyRelease(KeyEvent.VK_ENTER);

Java Robot class is able to interact with windows native dialog.

See my comment in http://forum.katalon.com/discussion/4662/download-files-from-web-ui-not-working. You’ll no longer need robot.

1 Like

Marivic E. Lorilla said:

See my comment in Download files from web ui not working - Bugs Report - Katalon Community. You’ll no longer need robot.

I am using similar settings for chrome, but unable to download, Do i also need some code in this case other than settings…In my case file is getting opened in another chrome window where i have to click on download button to save it to a particular folder…Please help!

Am i missing something???

Untitled.png

screen.png

Hello, try to follow this post:

Marek Melocik said:

Hello, try to follow this post: