Capturing naming conventions while using Web Recorder on Katalon Studio

Hello Katalon Developers,

I have little knowledge of programming and recently I was searching for testing applications/tools that can be utilized for automations but require minimal coding. I found out about Katalon and decided to try out its trial version.

With the help of my developer friends, I have a question while testing with Katalon Studios;

Issue: Capturing naming conventions while using Web Recorder on Katalon Studio.

I have a page that requires me to fill in multiple fields; these fields are programmed to use nested naming conventions. (eg: event.name, event.venue, event.description)

After recording with Web Recorder, the recorder only captured the top/first field for the rest of the nested fields. It seems that it is unable to specifically recognise the field names completely. Thus, when running playback, it only enters the inputs into the first/top field eg: input_Event Name_… (see screenshot)

Kindly assist me on how to go about to tackle this issue as most of my applications are using similar nested naming conventions. I figured there’s a manual workaround for this, however it would not meet with my objective to automate the testing process and be efficient.

Thank you for your attention to the issues mentioned above. I kindly request your input and suggestions. Your expertise and insights would be highly appreciated.

I look forward to receiving your response and working together towards finding suitable solutions.ed there’s a manual workaround for this, however it would not meet with my objective to automate the testing process and be efficient.

Thank you for your attention to the issues mentioned above. I kindly request your input and suggestions. Your expertise and insights would be highly appreciated.

I look forward to receiving your response and working together towards finding suitable solutions.

1 Like

Hi,