Can't import jar file

Hello,
I am a newbie in Java world, therefore I don’t really understand the strange package system and also jars.
I’ve created many jars to include in Katalon Studio Drivers folder, but none seems to be working.
But what is wrong with my jars?
Here are 2 jars: Drivers.zip (24.3 KB)
The kazurayam-ks-plainreport-0.6.0.jar created by @kazurayam works just fine, but mine, AhojClass.jar not working at all, and Katalon Studio don’t see neither package nor class inside it. Does anybody can hint me please that thing that I am missing?

Thanks so much :slight_smile:

Thank you for sharing the Drivers.zip file. This tells us many things. The zip file contains 2 files

• AhojClass.jar, which was created by you @peter.hevesi
  • kazurayam-ks-plainreport-0.6.0.jar, which I @kazurayam created

I opened these 2 *.jar files in my Emacs editor. I could see the contents like this:

You can easily see that the file trees in these 2 files look very different.

I mean, the AhojClass.jar is named as “*.jar” but is not a valid JAR file at all. There is a specification for a valid JAR file must follow.

In fact, people do not really need to study this specification, but people must use appropriate tools that are designed to produce a spec-compliant jar file. These tools include:

• the jar command bundled in the JDK
  • the jar task of Gradle build tool, Maven, Ant
  • various flavours of create jar features in IDEs (Eclipse, IntelliJ IDEA, VS Code, etc)

@peter.hevesi

How did you created the AhojClass.jar file?

I guess, you opened your directory in Windows Explorer and right-click it, “zipped” it, named it to be “AhojClass.jar” — that is not the way you should take.

1 Like

I see.

Then you should stop playing on Katalon Studio now. Katalon Studio is a UI-testing tool but is not a tool for programming in general. It provides no support for you to create a valid jar file.