Can't find Input type=file

@Brandon_Hein: I am having trouble finding an object that has type=“file”.Please guide me on this.

@Preet

The page is using delegation, it seems. To find the input element, move to the Console and type this:

document.querySelector("input[type=file]")

Hopefully, that will find the input element if it exists. If you see this image printed in the output, click it. That will take you to the element in the DOM. From there you should be able to create a CSS/XPath selector/locator to use in your script.

@Russ_Thomas :Thank you so much for your response so it worked for me and i could find the X-path.So from here i created a manual test object and provided it X-path and now using this test object to upload file for me.But i am still getting an error ,felt like X-path is keep on changing and that is the issue.I am very new in automation so a detailed steps would help me to understand better.Please see attached error details, manual object and script below for clarity:

Can you share more of the HTML surrounding that input element? If you click on the result of your query, it should bring you to the place where it exists in the HTML. We need to create an xpath for you that doesn’t rely on the ID value.

@Brandon_Hein Thank you much for your quick response but actually due to company polices ,i can’t share much details and if you can just suggest me something to look at that would help me to create an X path by myself.

No problem, I understand.

The input element itself doesn’t have any other useful attributes to uniquely identify it, so you’ll need to use some of the surrounding elements to do so. For example, if the input has a parent <div> element which has a unique, non-dynamic attribute, you could locate that, then traverse down to your input.

@Preet It’s likely you only have one <input[type=file]> on the page. You can target that element directly without an id attribute. @Brandon_Hein can give you the xpath.

Brandon?