What's the purpose of TestObject?

Hello, I’m trying to understand TestObject it seems great to be able to declare and reuse existing elements in different tests. But I cannot get their child elements, I can’t really do anything dynamic with them… So in these cases I drop down to the WebElement… And if so… What’s the point? I could use WebElement all the time, discarding TestObject. After considering that I’m wondering why using Katalon at all. I’m a developer so that is defiantly coloring my view of this. If TestObject could reference an array, and if it’s child elements could be accessed with a filter returning another TestObject that would definitely change my mind on this matter.

Am I missing something? Is that in the works?

Let me ask you a question.

Do you use “Record Web” and “Spy Web”?

Do you find them useful for you?

The following post by Marek Melocik would surprise you.

You can search sub elements using TestObject!

The purpose of TestObject for Marek here? TestObject is just an envelope of a XPath selector string. Let me rewrite his code a bit:

// ".//div[1]/div/div/ng-view/div[4]/div/div[7]/div/div[2]/div"String absolutePathToParent = findTestObject('Page_/parent_node').findPropertyValue('xpath')// "//div[text()='textYouLookFor']"String relativePathToChild  = findTestObject('Page_/relative_to_parent').findPropertyValue('xpath')
TestObject to = new TestObject().addProperty("xpath", ConditionType.EQUALS,    abosolutePathToParent + relativePathToChild)WebUI.verifyElementVisible(to)

Here the selector string could have been generated by “Report Web” or handcrafted; it doesn’t matter.

The heart of this trick is concatinating 2 selectors in XPath (absolute + relative) to form a new TestObject.

Please be aware that “Record Web” and “Spy Web” does not do support this trick.

kazurayam said: