Seeking advice on how to minimize my script regarding Dropdown values

Hi Good Day,

I’m new in automation and I don’t have much experience in scripting and I only rely with Google and Youtube.

Currently Im working on the Dropdown value and look like this:

Dropdown xpath:

Dropdown value xpath:

HTML :

And contains value:

Currently the script that I made is to verify the values on the dropdown list:

I just want to seek advice from on how can I minimize this script as soon I will be working on the Country Dropdown which list all the countries.

Example will be appreciated if have

For something like you show, I don’t think it worthwhile to “minimize” as it’s not worth the effort, however, for something like countries, it might be.

List<String> status = ["Billing Review", "Unpriceable", "Unbillable", "Priced", "Priced With Errors", "Posting", "Zero Balance", "Credit Balance"]

WebUI.click(findTestObject('ordersPage/prpAccessionStatus'))
for (int cnt = 0; cnt < status.size(); cnt++) {
    WebUI.verifyElementPresent(findTestObject('ordersPage/ddlAccessionStatus', [('accessionstatus') : status.get(cnt)]), 5)
}

Thanks for this idea grylion54!!!

Will definitely try this one :smiley:

Hi grylion I tried and it works well!

Question, I’m using this in one object and the application that I’m working for has a lot of dropdowns

And I tried to make it as keyword but seems it is not working

Here’s my script

CustomKeywords.'reusableComponents.VerifyValue_Dropdown.verifyDropdownValue'(findTestObject('ordersPage/ddlAccessionStatus'), 
  ['Billing Review', 'Unpriceable', 'Unbillable', 'Priced', 'Priced With Errors', 'Posting', 'Zero Balance', 'Credit Balance'])

Keyword

public class VerifyValue_Dropdown {
	@Keyword
	def verifyDropdownValue(TestObject to, List<String> listOfOptions) {

for (int cnt = 0; cnt < listOfOptions.size(); cnt++) {
			WebUI.verifyElementPresent(findTestObject('to', [('accessionstatus') : listOfOptions.get(cnt)]), 5)
		}
	}
}

Object