Retrieve SOAP Session ID for subsequent tests

I am new to Katalon (second day using it) and new to Groovy (second day using it as well). I am both learning Katalon as well as evaluating it for the company (if it does what we want, I’ll recommend purchasing a service contract).

I am developing some SOAP API’s that requires secure authentication. The initial request is a login containing UID, device ID, and a password and the response is a token that is used for a subsequent API request. For the subsequent request, the token is sent back to the API and it is compared to the token that it sent to the client. If they match, then the request is processed, otherwise it is not. This is the typical tokenized M2M authorization scheme. FWIW, I know these commands work as I can manually test them through the interface provided by our WebLogic server, but I want to automate the testing.

The problem I’m having is that I can’t figure out how to get the session ID from the response header after login and use it for the next API test. When I try to read the header fields from the login request, I get a null value returned. The HAR file shows that the session ID (and the rest of the HTTP header data) is being received by by Katalon, but I can’t seem to be able to retrieve the data I need. Here’s the code I have so far. Note that both tests run, it’s just that the second fails the authentication process (on the API server side) and returns an error code (properly) because it can’t verify the token sent back with the (missing) token saved in the session (because the session ID is not returned with the second request):

import static com.kms.katalon.core.checkpoint.CheckpointFactory.findCheckpoint
import static com.kms.katalon.core.testcase.TestCaseFactory.findTestCase
import static com.kms.katalon.core.testdata.TestDataFactory.findTestData
import static com.kms.katalon.core.testobject.ObjectRepository.findTestObject
import com.kms.katalon.core.checkpoint.Checkpoint as Checkpoint