Issue with div slider

Hello everyone,

I am a beginner with a bit experience and I have a problem with testing a slider function.

I have a slider that is defined in a div-element:
“<div class=“noUi-origin noUi-connect” style=“left: 0%;”>”

When I move the slider to the right side, the style element changes to another value in 5% steps, e.g.
“<div class=“noUi-origin noUi-connect” style=“left: 5%;”>”

Now I want to move this slider in my test case to the right side, let’s say to 10%.
I have tried to change this TestObject with WebUI.modifyObjectProperty but when I change the style element e.g. to 5% it moves to 50% (always to 50%, even if I change the style to 10%).

I also created a temporary TestObject with “xpath EQUALS <div class=“noUi-origin noUi-connect” style=“left: 5%;”>” and tried WebUI.dragAndDropToObject but it had the same behavior.

Has anybody an idea how to manage this test case?

I think you misunderstand what WebUI.modifyObjectProperty actually does. It modifies the property of a Test Object, not of an actual element on your web page.

It’s important that you understand what Test Objects actually are, and how they are used. Test Objects are simply a container for a locator that will ultimately be used by Selenium to locate a true WebElement. So when you are modifying a Test Object property, that has nothing to do with modifying the WebElement, or even the HTML of the application you are testing. You are just changing a property of the container.

To actually manipulate the web page, you will need to use JavaScript. Try something like this for starters:

WebDriver driver = DriverFactory.getWebDriver();
JavascriptExecutor js = (JavascriptExecutor) driver;
WebElement slider = WebUiCommonHelper.findWebElement(findTestObject("path/to/test/object"), 30)
js.executeScript("arguments[0].setAttribute('style', 'left: 5%;')", slider);
1 Like

Hello Brandon,

I am a colleague of Nills and trying the same code suggested by you. But ending up with error like: