If text present, show failed step

I have a simple thing I’m starting with, I want to see if the text “2018” is present on a page, if it is, I want to show it as a failed step. I have this now, but it keeps showing as passed.

WebUI.verifyTextPresent(‘2018’, true, FailureHandling.STOP_ON_FAILURE)

I’m new to this, what am I missing?

First thing is the “true” in the verifyTextPresent method means you want to use Regular Expression (RegEx). RegEx allows you to do a similar comparison using wildcards. You are not using any wildcard in your text, so I would change the statement to use false, like I do below.

The second thing is you have to use the NOT version of the method, because you want it to fail if the text is present, so if it is not present, then all’s good. However, the failure is that the text is present and we were asking for it to “not be present”. Since the below statement is not true, it fails and you get STOP_ON_FAILURE.

WebUI.verifyTextNotPresent('2018', false, FailureHandling.STOP_ON_FAILURE)

This is sort of like reverse logic. And you could always put your statement and my statement in your Test Case and see which one blows up. Yaaaah!

3 Likes

So, I tried that, but get a LONG error.

06-26-2023 08:07:35 PM Test Cases/Case2

Elapsed time: 9.521s

Test Cases/Case2 FAILED.
Reason:
com.kms.katalon.core.exception.StepFailedException: Unable to verify text ‘2018’ is not present
at com.kms.katalon.core.webui.keyword.internal.WebUIKeywordMain.stepFailed(WebUIKeywordMain.groovy:64)
at com.kms.katalon.core.webui.keyword.internal.WebUIKeywordMain.runKeyword(WebUIKeywordMain.groovy:26)
at com.kms.katalon.core.webui.keyword.builtin.VerifyTextNotPresentKeyword.verifyTextNotPresent(VerifyTextNotPresentKeyword.groovy:82)
at com.kms.katalon.core.webui.keyword.builtin.VerifyTextNotPresentKeyword.execute(VerifyTextNotPresentKeyword.groovy:68)
at com.kms.katalon.core.keyword.internal.KeywordExecutor.executeKeywordForPlatform(KeywordExecutor.groovy:74)