How to save a string coming from a HTML response

Hi everyone,

i’m here to ask you if there’s a way to store in a variable a dynamic string that is generated in the response of a rest API (POST) in HTML format. I have to use the saved string in the body of another request.
How can i do?
Thank You :slight_smile:

You need to achieve the following 3 tasks:

1. pick up a string value from the response of a REST API.
  2. put a string into an INPUT element in a HTML page.

and then

1. combine the1 and 2 above.

So, I would ask you

Can you write a code that achieves the task1? If yes, please show your code here.

Can you write a code that achieves the task2? If yes, please show your code here.

hi, i’m not able to write any code since i’m not a programmer. I have to use the string extracted from the reponse of the first post api in the body of another post request. Thank you :slight_smile:

Katalon Studio, and any other tools possibly, does not provide a solution out of box.

If you want to achieve what you want to do, you need to be a programmer.

Possibly now is the time for you to start studying programming.

Why not you try to write a code that does:

1. pick up a string value from the response of a REST API.

If you encounter error, then show us your code, error log, and the JSON/XML response to us. Possibly somebody would give you advices.

Please keep this in mind — No code, no advice.

The response is in HTML format, is there any parser that i can use? Json slurper only works with Json i think.

You can use getText(TestObject) keyword.

I am curious what it is: a REST API response in … HTML? neither Json nor XML?

Is it a page which tells you “Bad request. Unable to accept your request” ?

It is a post request that gives a html response. Its a radlogin software page that gives infos on authentication. Some of that info must be reused in another post request to make an accounting start (on Radius Server).