Custom Keyword -> Is this good practice?

Hello everyone. Im not quite sure if this is a good practice to write keywords this way. I had some troubles to check a radio input element with the built in keyword. So i’ve written a custom keyword now to use a simple javascript click on that object in case the built in check keyword fails.

Im not that experienced with writing code in general and i have my doubts that my code is stable and it could potentially break.

Can someone tell me if this code is okay or am i missing some potential problems with using javascript click

/**
 * Custom Check keyword: Try to check with standard keyword. If check fails due to not clickable exception: Retry with JavaScript click()
 * @param to - Represents a TestObject
 */
@Keyword
def customCheck(TestObject to) {

WebElement webElement = WebUiCommonHelper.findWebElement(to, 0)
	def isNotSelected = WebUI.verifyElementNotChecked(to,15)

//Try to click with current test object if not selected
	try{
		if (isNotSelected) {
			WebUI.check(to)
		} else {
			println "Input element is already checked, therefore check action will not be executed"
		}

} catch (Exception ex) {

if (isNotSelected) {
			println("--- Standard check failed -> Catch block execution started: Check (click) via JavaScript ---")
			WebDriver driver = DriverFactory.getWebDriver()
			JavascriptExecutor executor = ((driver) as JavascriptExecutor)
			executor.executeScript('arguments[0].click()', webElement)
		}

def isSelected = WebUI.verifyElementChecked(to,15)

if (isSelected) {
			KeywordUtil.markPassed("Element was selected (checked) successfully.")
		} else {
			KeywordUtil.markFailed("Checking element failed!")
		}
	}
}

Daniel

Im not quite sure if this is a good practice to write keywords this way.