CSS Selectors with changing values

Hi!

I have a CSS selector value that is sometimes appended with -prevClone. Is it possible to set the selector editor so it looks for the presence of sponsored-#### within the first selector field? Screenshot showing the two selectors follows…

Thanks!
Morgan

2019-05-08_11-11-35

Not sure what you mean be that.

This is how to return an element that starts with a given sequence of chars:

[id^=sponsored-] > div > blah blah blah

And ends with, in case you need it…

[id$=something] > div > blah blah blah

and contains

[id*=something] > div > blah blah blah

Sorry, this is my first attempt at using CSS Selectors - you picked up what I was putting down, though. I’ll give it a go! Thanks!!! :sunglasses:

Be careful though, if BOTH those elements are present, the selector will return BOTH elements. Let me know if that’s the case.

It seems to find it, which is awesome! Thanks! Oddly, not on the first time - it rotates through the carousel a few times then finds the item I’m looking for (the id value is different each time it actually does click it so there’s something more going on that I need to dive into). I’ll post about that separately - this seems to be the solve for this particular issue. Thanks!

For future me, I adjusted the Selector Editor on the object to be…

[id*=sponsored-14395] > div > div.actions.product__actions > div.actions__alignmentContainer > button

This selector would match both of the elements. Are you sure it is working right?

Maybe the other one is hidden or something…

Ya know… it worked a few times then I tweaked something and couldn’t get it working again. I get what you are saying, it could be finding the hidden element (I hate carousels). Suggestions?

Use Russ’s (am I spelling this right? To many s-es :slight_smile: ) “ends with” locator. It should select only the first element.

Maybe they hate you? That’s okay, they’re pretty shallow anyway. :confused: