Creating a common test case to logout of a application

Hi, I’m new to Katalon Studio and am working on a POC to see if this product is fit for purpose.

I have an application where the user logs in, does a search and clicks on a Search button to gets a list of results and then clicks on a result item to view details. Each page (search, list of results and view details) all contain a user profile menu that allows the user to logout. The logout objects e.g. link_logout is the same on each page - however it seems the Object Repository creates a separate folder for each page with the same link_logout object.

Is it possible to create one Logout test case that can be used to log out from one link_logout object from any page? It seems I need to create separate logout test cases for each page and I do not want to have to create duplicate test cases to logout depending on which page the user is currently on.

Thanks!

I think it is totally up to you how you set up your Object Repository. It sounds like you are using the Web Recorder to get the elements on the page. The Web Recorder is just a Helper to get you started. However, if you only want one object to represent them all, then as long as the xpath you use is the same for all the buttons for each page, go with the way you want. Maybe you can create a folder called, Common, or something like that and put “common” elements like your logout button in it. You can just use Drag and Drop to move your objects.

1 Like

As it should be… You should be raising an issue if it weren’t.

No no no. Object Repository is where the Test Objects, that are not created programmatically, are stored. These could be Test Objects that you create yourself, or like you’re probably doing, with the Recorder/Web Spy.

The latter would definitely, by default, create them for each page. It sounds like that’s the last thing you’d want…