Catch block not executed correctly

Hey again! :slight_smile:

I have a carousel which I want do loop through (clicking next on the carousel navigation button) until a specific product is visible. The elements I want to use are both present in the dom and should be visible (hence why I went with verifyElementVisible).

After playing with this a bit and doing some research, I’ve come up with the below. Issues with this…

1. It seems to loop through 4 times regardless (at which point it always finds the product on the last slide) - this might be some other issue I haven’t figured out…
  2. It never seems to catch the exception when it is unable to locate the element - this is my first time working with that, what am I doing wrong?

Other suggestions? I’m psyched it’s mostly working but perplexed what I’m missing here.

Thanks!
Morgan

import com.kms.katalon.core.exception.StepFailedException
<and others>

for (int i=0; i<4; i++) {   
		try {
	if (WebUI.verifyElementVisible((sponsoredPrd), FailureHandling.CONTINUE_ON_FAILURE)) {   
		KeywordUtil.markPassed("Correct Product Located")
		break;
	} else {
	KeywordUtil.logInfo("Product not located on current slide")
		WebUI.click(findTestObject(btnNextSlide))
		WebUI.delay(1) }
	} catch (com.kms.katalon.core.exception.StepFailedException e)
		{
			this.println("Unable to locate correct sponsored product but it's cool...")
		}
	}

Hi Morgan,

using FailureHandling.CONTINUE_ON_FAILURE the StepFailedException is not thrown, so it cannot be caught. Remove this argument and then you may be able to catch the exception if any appears.

I removed that and it does seem to now hit the catch statement (yay!) however it now won’t hit the else when it should :thinking: Any ideas what might be going on there?

You probably want to ditch the else altogether. In effect, you now have a true/fail test, not a true/false test:

try {
  if(verifyElementVisible(...)) {
    markPassed(...)
  }
} catch(Exception e) {