waitFor* should behave like other methods in flow

I am quite new to Katalon, but there are some issues that strikes me as odd, this one is especially one that I really struggles with.

There are some waitFor* methods that takes a timeout which I thought waits for the element to be clickable within the defined time period or otherwise should fail.

But these doesn’t fail, they just give a warning and the code continues to be executed (and fails other places).

I think that the waitFor* methods should work in the same way as other methods, when failing throw an error unless the flowControl handling states otherwise. This will make the Katalon project more consistent in its work.

This wouldn’t be that big of a problem IF the verify* counterparts had a timeout parameter (see a another discussion), but they doesn’t and this becomes a problem.

–Rune

Have a look at documents

The method accepts FailureHandling object as 3rd argument:

import com.kms.katalon.core.model.FailureHandling
flowControlWebUI.waitForElementClickable(    findTestObject('Page_CuraHomepage/btn_MakeAppointment'),    20,    FailureHandling.STOP_ON_FAILURE)

You can choose either of FailureHandling.STOP_ON_FAILURE, FailureHandling.CONTINUE_ON_FAILURE and FailureHandling.OPTIONAL.

By specifying STOP_ON_FAILURE you can stop the test case on failure.

You should use verify commands instead of waitFor if you want it to assert that statement. A lot of the verify commands also allow you to define a timeout. We use waitFor a lot in our if statements.

The problem is that the waitFor* ignores that, even if you set’s the failureHandlig to STOP_ON_FAILURE.

Yes, the Verify* commands should be the one used, but as mentioned several of these are missing the timeout value (which I reported in a seperate post).