Visual Testing in Katalon Studio

I have created a project at

Please refer to this Github repository for running codes and description in detail.

----

Problem to solve

What do I mean by the word Visutal Testing? Any toolset that provides a solution to my requirements as follows, I would regard it a Visual Testing solution.

• Often I have to look at the pages of a Web site. Maybe I am a developer, a designer, a tester or just a fan of the site.
  • I want to look at as many pages of the site as possible. Wide coverage matters.
  • I want to compare the view of 2 environments; e.g. Production and Development.
  • I want to take full-page screen shots of all pages as evidence
  • After taking screenshots, I want to check them to find out if there are any differences in view between the two.

If the target Web site has 100 pages, it would take me more than 60 minutes to run through. Itā€™s too tiring, too boring. I donā€™t like doing such a bullshit job! Therefore I would add the final term:

• I want to automate it.

I just want to be notified if 2 environments have some significant visual differences. I would not require the tool to be equipped with full fledged debugging functionalities. Preferably it should be free of charge.

Solution

As for the file path problem, I have developed another project titled:

This project demonstrates how to take multiple sets of web page screen shots and store them into a well-structured file system tree. This demo project uses another GitHub repository:

This project provides a jar file which implements MaterialRepository = well-defined file tree and provides access methods.

As for the full-page screenshot problem, I found that the library aShot solves like a charm. I wrote a report how I utilized aShot in Katalon Studio: