Adding date and time when registering a new user

Hi All,
I hope you can help me, i am very new to Katalon and not so good with Javascript. The challenge i am facing is that, when a user is registering on a website, the username should include the date and time so that i can have different usernames when running the Register test case multiple times. I am currently manually changing the username on the script, which defeat the purpose of automation. How can i achieve this?

Thanks,

Hello, use timestamp for this purpose.

long ts = System.currentTimeMillis() / 1000LString username = 'MyUsername_' + ts

1 Like

Hi Marek,
Thank you for you response. where do i put in the code? this is currently how my script looks like? where would i insert the code above?

WebUI.openBrowser(’’)

WebUI.maximizeWindow()

WebUI.navigateToUrl(‘http://uat.katalon.co.za/Account/SignIn’)

WebUI.click(findTestObject(‘Light Registration/Page_Welcome to katalon/a_Register’))

WebUI.setText(findTestObject(‘Light Registration/Page_Registration/input_Username’), ‘MaryMofokeng009’)

Thank you

Your code should look like this:

WebUI.openBrowser('')WebUI.maximizeWindow()WebUI.navigateToUrl('http://uat.katalon.co.za/Account/SignIn')WebUI.click(findTestObject('Light Registration/Page_Welcome to katalon/a_Register'))long ts = System.currentTimeMillis() / 1000LString username = 'MaryMofokeng_' + tsWebUI.setText(findTestObject('Light Registration/Page_Registration/input_Username'), username)

1 Like

Thank you so much Marek. It is working.

Good afternoon:

I have a similar issue to the one above. In my test case, I need to register a new user, must be email. However, I don’t want to register the same user each time because the system will indicate user is already registered. Here is the script:

Mobile.startApplication(‘C:\\Users\\dcherry\\Desktop\\CodeTwo-debug.apk’, true)

MobileBuiltInKeywords.tap(findTestObject(‘OnSolve/CodeRED Mobile/Android/CRMA/Sign In Page/Register/btn_Reg’), 0)