Is it possible to import existing selenium tests created through the firefox IDE into katalon?

Hi,
I’m new to katalon and was wondering about its abilities.
I’ve used the selenium IDE plugin in firefox previously to create tests and have quite a few of them, all of which are html files.
I was wondering if its possible to import these existing tests in some from into katalon and use them directly instead of creating new tests from scratch?
I’ve been trying to search for this information but was unable to find anything similar so any pointers would be much appreciated.

Also wanted to know if we can write the Scripts (In Katalon) in the syntax similar to one using Selenium Java in Eclipse or any other IDE.

At the moment it is not possible to import test scripts to Katalon created with Selenium Java in other IDEs. But you can extend your keywords using Java code.

Okay thanks for the information Jan.

Hi. Now you can import Selenium IDE test cases into Katalon Recorder and export them to Katalon Studio’s Groovy format. More about it here http://forum.katalon.com/discussion/4056/katalon-automation-recorder-powerful-selenium-ide-to-record-debug-play-tests-in-any-browsers. I’m using it to export my old Selenium IDE test cases to C# and it works well so far.

Just in case anyone is struggling on how to import a Selenium test case.
In Katalon Recorder,

• click on the three vertical dots next to ‘Test Case’,
  • select ‘Open Test Suites’
  • browse to your Selenium test case html files,
  • select the one required
  • click ‘Open’
    Now you can export the test case to whichever format is required

Hi Mark, I could not find the three vertical dos next to ‘test Case’ in the Katalon Recorder. Can you please give further details? Maybe a screen shot? Thank you!

Hi Ian, I found the reference Mark was talking about and it does work…see attached screenshot after you’ve clicked the Katalon Recorder icon at the top of your browser window.

image.png

Hi,