Node.js: Server-side JavaScript remains active after Spy Mobile or a failed test

I started playing around with the Mobile part of Katalon today and quickly ran into a problem:
Every time i run a test or the SpyMobile, a Node.js process is created. Problem is, if i don’t use “Close Application” at the end of my test, the process remains active in Windows even after the end of the test. This means that if my test fails, the process remains as well. Same happens after using the Spy Mobile - the server process is created but not shut down.

This leads to memory blocking and also stops any further servers to properly run (processes are created but can’t complete the start up). Not a big deal to end the process manually in the task manager, but still… I ran out of memory very fast before noticing this since my test failed, i hit the Run button 5-6 times and it created 6 more servers that all use ~200mb of ram…

Is that just me or a general problem?

I think it’s a good suggestion, Dobromir. We’ve noted your problem down and definitely going to come up with an option for users to terminating Appium Server process when executing in the next Katalon Studio Release.

Again, we’re really appreciate your feedback. Cheers !

Thank you for the information Hieu!

I see what you mean about debugging an app after it has failed. Perhaps you could implement an option to select the behavior of the server in that case, to allow multiple tests to be executed automatically (a suite, suite collection)? On my system, if an Appium server process remains active Katalon will try to start new ones but they time out (might be just because my system doesn’t have enough resources) so basically if 1 test in a suite fails, the whole executing will break down.