Katalon Studio v5.8 - It's time for the all-new API testing experience
Vishakha
Katalon Apprentice
02/26/2018

Exception while running on Ubuntu Katalon 5.3

Jenkin build shows test suite not found though test suite exist. I tried to run command without jenkins, got the same error.

Building in workspace /var/lib/jenkins/workspace/katalon
[WS-CLEANUP] Deleting project workspace...
[WS-CLEANUP] Done
Cloning the remote Git repository
Cloning repository https://gitlab.com/OKRs/OKRs.git
 > git init /var/lib/jenkins/workspace/katalon # timeout=10
Fetching upstream changes from https://gitlab.com/OKRs/OKRs.git
 > git --version # timeout=10
using GIT_ASKPASS to set credentials 
 > git fetch --tags --progress https://gitlab.com/OKRs/OKRs.git +refs/heads/*:refs/remotes/origin/*
 > git config remote.origin.url https://gitlab.com/OKRs/OKRs.git # timeout=10
 > git config --add remote.origin.fetch +refs/heads/*:refs/remotes/origin/* # timeout=10
 > git config remote.origin.url https://gitlab.com/OKRs/OKRs.git # timeout=10
Fetching upstream changes from https://gitlab.com/OKRs/OKRs.git
using GIT_ASKPASS to set credentials 
 > git fetch --tags --progress https://gitlab.com/OKRs/OKRs.git +refs/heads/*:refs/remotes/origin/*
 > git rev-parse refs/remotes/origin/develop^{commit} # timeout=10
 > git rev-parse refs/remotes/origin/origin/develop^{commit} # timeout=10
Checking out Revision 9541006807174bfedcc1268beb7e98b7c43f7953 (refs/remotes/origin/develop)
Commit message: "Update dispatch.yml"
 > git config core.sparsecheckout # timeout=10
 > git checkout -f 9541006807174bfedcc1268beb7e98b7c43f7953
 > git rev-list 9541006807174bfedcc1268beb7e98b7c43f7953 # timeout=10
[katalon] $ /bin/sh -xe /tmp/jenkins6613783798045246595.sh
+ cd /opt/katalon-5.3
+ ./katalon -runMode=console -projectPath=/var/lib/jenkins/workspace/katalon/OKRS_Automation/OKRS_Project_Release1.prj -reportFolder=/var/lib/jenkins/workspace/katalon/OKRS_Automation/Reports/OKRTestSuite -reportFileName=report -retry=0 -testSuitePath=/var/lib/jenkins/workspace/katalon/OKRS_Automation/Test Suites/OKRTestSuite.ts -browserType=Chrome -data=/tmp
Starting Groovy-Eclipse compiler resolver.  Specified compiler level: unspecified
131 2.4.7.xx-201611170128-e46 = ACTIVE
com.kms.katalon.execution.exception.ExecutionException: com.kms.katalon.execution.exception.InvalidConsoleArgumentException: Test suite '/var/lib/jenkins/workspace/katalon/OKRS_Automation/Test Suites/OKRTestSuite.ts' not found.
	at com.kms.katalon.execution.console.entity.TestSuiteLauncherOptionParser.getConsoleLauncher(TestSuiteLauncherOptionParser.java:73)
	at com.kms.katalon.execution.console.ConsoleExecutor.execute(ConsoleExecutor.java:67)
	at com.kms.katalon.execution.console.ConsoleMain.launch(ConsoleMain.java:81)
	at com.kms.katalon.console.application.Application.runConsole(Application.java:62)
	at com.kms.katalon.core.application.Application.runConsole(Application.java:72)
	at com.kms.katalon.core.application.Application.start(Application.java:56)
	at org.eclipse.equinox.internal.app.EclipseAppHandle.run(EclipseAppHandle.java:196)
	at org.eclipse.core.runtime.internal.adaptor.EclipseAppLauncher.runApplication(EclipseAppLauncher.java:134)
	at org.eclipse.core.runtime.internal.adaptor.EclipseAppLauncher.start(EclipseAppLauncher.java:104)
	at org.eclipse.core.runtime.adaptor.EclipseStarter.run(EclipseStarter.java:388)
	at org.eclipse.core.runtime.adaptor.EclipseStarter.run(EclipseStarter.java:243)
	at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
	at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:62)
	at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43)
	at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:498)
	at org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.Main.invokeFramework(Main.java:673)
	at org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.Main.basicRun(Main.java:610)
	at org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.Main.run(Main.java:1519)
	at org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.Main.main(Main.java:1492)
Caused by: com.kms.katalon.execution.exception.InvalidConsoleArgumentException: Test suite '/var/lib/jenkins/workspace/katalon/OKRS_Automation/Test Suites/OKRTestSuite.ts' not found.
	at com.kms.katalon.execution.console.entity.TestSuiteLauncherOptionParser.throwInvalidTestSuiteIdException(TestSuiteLauncherOptionParser.java:106)
	at com.kms.katalon.execution.console.entity.TestSuiteLauncherOptionParser.getTestSuite(TestSuiteLauncherOptionParser.java:101)
	at com.kms.katalon.execution.console.entity.TestSuiteLauncherOptionParser.getConsoleLauncher(TestSuiteLauncherOptionParser.java:64)
	... 18 more

Build step 'Execute shell' marked build as failure
Recording test results
ERROR: Step ‘Publish JUnit test result report’ failed: No test report files were found. Configuration error?
Finished: FAILURE
Upvote
Quote

Comments

  • Vishakha
    Katalon Apprentice
    02/26/2018
    ls -l shows below output for same location
    -rw-r--r-- 1 jenkins jenkins 953 Feb 26 12:53 /var/lib/jenkins/workspace/katalon/OKRS_Automation/Test Suites/OKRTestSuite.ts
    Upvote
    Quote
  • Vinh Nguyen
    Katalon Moderator
    02/27/2018
    Can you show me your logs in a better format? I am not able to point out the error you are facing based on that logs
    Upvote
    Quote
  • Vishakha
    Katalon Apprentice
    02/27/2018
    I have tried using code tag to show the exception logs. Below I used spoiler tag. Let me know if you still not able to get the exception

    com.kms.katalon.execution.exception.ExecutionException: com.kms.katalon.execution.exception.InvalidConsoleArgumentException: Test suite '/var/lib/jenkins/workspace/katalon/OKRS_Automation/Test Suites/OKRTestSuite.ts' not found.
    at com.kms.katalon.execution.console.entity.TestSuiteLauncherOptionParser.getConsoleLauncher(TestSuiteLauncherOptionParser.java:73)
    at com.kms.katalon.execution.console.ConsoleExecutor.execute(ConsoleExecutor.java:67)
    at com.kms.katalon.execution.console.ConsoleMain.launch(ConsoleMain.java:81)
    at com.kms.katalon.console.application.Application.runConsole(Application.java:62)
    at com.kms.katalon.core.application.Application.runConsole(Application.java:72)
    at com.kms.katalon.core.application.Application.start(Application.java:56)
    at org.eclipse.equinox.internal.app.EclipseAppHandle.run(EclipseAppHandle.java:196)
    at org.eclipse.core.runtime.internal.adaptor.EclipseAppLauncher.runApplication(EclipseAppLauncher.java:134)
    at org.eclipse.core.runtime.internal.adaptor.EclipseAppLauncher.start(EclipseAppLauncher.java:104)
    at org.eclipse.core.runtime.adaptor.EclipseStarter.run(EclipseStarter.java:388)
    at org.eclipse.core.runtime.adaptor.EclipseStarter.run(EclipseStarter.java:243)
    at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
    at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:62)
    at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43)
    at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:498)
    at org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.Main.invokeFramework(Main.java:673)
    at org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.Main.basicRun(Main.java:610)
    at org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.Main.run(Main.java:1519)
    at org.eclipse.equinox.launcher.Main.main(Main.java:1492)
    Caused by: com.kms.katalon.execution.exception.InvalidConsoleArgumentException: Test suite '/var/lib/jenkins/workspace/katalon/OKRS_Automation/Test Suites/OKRTestSuite.ts' not found.
    at com.kms.katalon.execution.console.entity.TestSuiteLauncherOptionParser.throwInvalidTestSuiteIdException(TestSuiteLauncherOptionParser.java:106)
    at com.kms.katalon.execution.console.entity.TestSuiteLauncherOptionParser.getTestSuite(TestSuiteLauncherOptionParser.java:101)
    at com.kms.katalon.execution.console.entity.TestSuiteLauncherOptionParser.getConsoleLauncher(TestSuiteLauncherOptionParser.java:64)
    ... 18 more

    Upvote
    Quote
  • Vinh Nguyen
    Katalon Moderator
    02/28/2018
    This is the root cause:
    "Test suite '/var/lib/jenkins/workspace/katalon/OKRS_Automation/Test Suites/OKRTestSuite.ts'"

    Can you check you've passed correct Test Suite path in this case? Or is it possible to show me your console mode command as well. There must be something wrong in our console mode command
    Upvote
    Quote
  • Vishakha
    Katalon Apprentice
    02/28/2018
    edited February 28
    Yes that's the correct path 

    I got  the below result which proves that file exist on same location
    ls -l shows below output for same location
     -rw-r--r-- 1 jenkins jenkins 953Feb 26 12:53 /var/lib/jenkins/workspace/katalon/OKRS_Automation/Test Suites/OKRTestSuite.ts
    Upvote
    Quote
  • Scott Wares
    Katalon Apprentice
    03/09/2018
    I have the same problem. Let me know there is any other info you desire.

    Setting the testSuitePath to the test suites directory or a test suite file in said directory fails.

    OS:
    Ubuntu 16.04.4 LTS (Xenial Xerus)

    Jenkins:
    Jenkins v2.89.4

    Launch Command:

    /var/lib/jenkins/Katalon_Studio_Linux_64-5.3.1/katalon -noSplash  -runMode=console -consoleLog -projectPath="/var/lib/jenkins/workspace/test-katalon/Katalon/test-proj.prj" -retry=0 -testSuitePath="/var/lib/jenkins/workspace/test-katalon/Katalon/TestSuites/GooleTestSuite.ts" -browserType="Chrome (headless)"
    Failure Cause:
    Caused by: com.kms.katalon.execution.exception.InvalidConsoleArgumentException: Test suite '/var/lib/jenkins/workspace/test-katalon/Katalon/TestSuites/GoogleTestSuite.ts' not found.
    Test Suites Exist
    ls -l /var/lib/jenkins/workspace/test-katalon/Katalon/TestSuites/GoogleTestSuite.ts
    -rw-r--r-- 1 jenkins jenkins 485 Mar  9 11:01 /var/lib/jenkins/workspace/test-katalon/Katalon/TestSuites/GoogleTestSuite.ts
    Upvote
    Quote
  • Vinh Nguyen
    Katalon Moderator
    03/12/2018
    edited March 12
    /var/lib/jenkins/workspace/test-katalon/Katalon/TestSuites/GoogleTestSuite.ts
    This is not the correct path. You need to pass in the relative path instead, e.g:/TestSuites/GoogleTestSuite. So the correct path should be:

    /var/lib/jenkins/Katalon_Studio_Linux_64-5.3.1/katalon -noSplash  -runMode=console -consoleLog -projectPath="/var/lib/jenkins/workspace/test-katalon/Katalon/test-proj.prj" -retry=0 -testSuitePath="TestSuites/GoogleTestSuite" -browserType="Chrome (headless)"
    Upvote
    Quote
  • Scott Wares
    Katalon Apprentice
    03/12/2018
    Tried that too but it still doesn't find the test suite.

    Command Line:
    /var/lib/jenkins/Katalon_Studio_Linux_64-5.3.1/katalon -noSplash  -runMode=console -consoleLog -projectPath="/var/lib/jenkins/workspace/test-katalon/Katalon/test-proj.prj" -retry=0 -testSuitePath="TestSuites/GoogleTestSuite.ts" -browserType="Chrome (headless)"
    Path and permissions looks good:
    jenkins@ip-172-31-58-64:~/workspace/test-katalon/Katalon$ pwd
    /var/lib/jenkins/workspace/test-katalon/Katalon
    jenkins@ip-172-31-58-64:~/workspace/test-katalon/Katalon$ ls -l TestSuites/GoogleTestSuite.ts
    -rw-r--r-- 1 jenkins jenkins 703 Mar  9 11:11 TestSuites/GoogleTestSuite.ts
    Still fails saying it can't find its test suite.
    com.kms.katalon.execution.exception.ExecutionException: com.kms.katalon.execution.exception.InvalidConsoleArgumentException: Test suite 'TestSuites/GoogleTestSuite.ts' not found.
    :(
    Upvote
    Quote
  • Scott Wares
    Katalon Apprentice
    03/12/2018

    jenkins@ip-172-31-58-64:~/workspace/test-katalon/Katalon$ 
    ls -ld TestSuites/
    drwxrwxr-x 2 jenkins jenkins 4096 Mar  9 11:11 TestSuites/
    jenkins@ip-172-31-58-64:~/workspace/test-katalon/Katalon$ ls -ld ~/workspace/test-katalon/Katalon
    drwxrwxr-x 17 jenkins jenkins 4096 Mar  9 11:04 /var/lib/jenkins/workspace/test-katalon/Katalon

    Upvote
    Quote
  • Vinh Nguyen
    Katalon Moderator
    03/13/2018
    You should remove '.ts' extension here. Katalon Studio command doesn't need that .ts and it can be the root cause which causing this confusion.
    Upvote
    Quote
  • Vinh Nguyen
    Katalon Moderator
    03/13/2018
    Should be like this (without .ts)
    TestSuites/GoogleTestSuite
    Upvote
    Quote
  • Scott Wares
    Katalon Apprentice
    03/14/2018
    Thanks now it tries to run tests :)
    Upvote
    Quote
  • Buena Anda
    Katalon Apprentice
    10/11/2018
    edited October 11
    Can anyone help me with this. Here's the console output. Thanks
    
    Building in workspace /Users/Shared/Jenkins/Home/workspace/First-Mobile-Automation-Using-Katalon
    [First-Mobile-Automation-Using-Katalon] $ /bin/sh -xe /Users/Shared/Jenkins/tmp/jenkins6438502168482479124.sh
    + cd /Applications/
    + './Katalon Studio.app/Contents/MacOS/katalon' --args -noSplash -runMode=console '-projectPath=/Users/ubp/Katalon Studio/First-Mobile-Automation-Using-Katalon/First-Mobile-Automation-Using-Katalon.prj' -retry=0 '-testSuitePath=Test Suites/iOS/Login Test' -executionProfile=default -deviceId=EF9A8FFB-C4DE-4B80-9E18-E329B10BD846 -browserType=iOS
    /Users/Shared/Jenkins/tmp/jenkins6438502168482479124.sh: line 4: ./Katalon Studio.app/Contents/MacOS/katalon: Permission denied
    Build step 'Execute shell' marked build as failure
    Finished: FAILURE
    Upvote
    Quote
  • Ibus
    Katalon Ambassador
    10/11/2018
    edited October 11
    assuming the path to Katalon application is correct:

    ./Katalon Studio.app/Contents/MacOS/katalon: Permission denied
    Does the jenkins user have -rx (read and execute) permissions on the given folder? (not sure if -w is needed too)
    Upvote
    Quote
Sign In or Register to comment.