Load testing with a specific number of users

I apologize in advance for this basic question but I am new to test automation.

I would like to know how to set up a load test with a predefined number of users (50). For now I have setup test cases and test suites for each of these users and execute the test suites within a test suite collection.

The problem is in the future, if I want to run that load test with 100 users I need to add more test cases and test suites. Since the test steps are about the same for each user, there has to be a more intelligent way to do this but I don’t know where to start.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

3 Likes

You can overcome this by calling the same test cases multiple times in its loop, so that you just need to change loop variables to match with your desired. Below is a sample code which will loop 100 times to execute Login test case:

(1..100).each {
	WebUI.callTestCase(findTestCase('Common Test Cases/Login'), ['Username' : 'John Doe', 'Password' : 'ThisIsNotAPassword'])
}

Thanks a lot for the response Vinh. I have thought about using a loop but will this allow me to run my test for all my users simultaneously? I have a feeling if a implement a loop, it will do TC for user1, then TC for user2 and so on. I need to be able to run them at the same time to test the capacities of my AUT.

2 Likes

Hi! I have the same question. Any solution?

1 Like

There is a way, but it’s a bit messy. You can add every single TC to a single Test Suite. Then add TSs to a Test Suite Collection and then you can run the TSC with a parallel execution option. See, told you it’s messy. :stuck_out_tongue:

As for ‘load testing’ simulating 50 or 100 or more users, I would rather use JMeter (https://jmeter.apache.org/).
See https://octoperf.com/blog/2017/12/14/multiple-user-login-jmeter/