Initial setup: ChromeDriver DevToolsActivePort file doesn't exist

Hi,

I am a newbie, just trying to decide if we want to use Katalon. It looks very impressive, if we could get it to work. I can record from an existing Chrome browser, and I can run the testcase in a headless Chrome browser, and IE just fine. However if I try to run it normally in Chrome, it opens the browser with a “data:,” location.

After spending a couple days reading the Forum, Stackoverflow, etc. and trying all the possible fixes I could find I still have the Chromedriver log file saying: DevToolsActivePort file doesn’t exist. (The chrome runtime options are below)

Since this seems to be a pretty common problem, perhaps someone can see something in the log files I missed. …I don’t know how to actually attach the log files, but I included some of the interesting bits.

Computer: Windows 10 Enterprise, V1803, 64-bit accessible to the internet, but on a semi-secure network - and no idea what may have been locked down.

From Katalan’s log file:

katalon.versionNumber=6.2.2
katalon.buildNumber=4
!SESSION 2019-07-25 15:28:32.244 -----------------------------------------------
eclipse.buildId=unknown
java.version=1.8.0_181
java.vendor=Oracle Corporation
BootLoader constants: OS=win32, ARCH=x86_64, WS=win32, NL=en_CA
Command-line arguments: -os win32 -ws win32 -arch x86_64 -data @noDefault

From Chromedriver (from the most recent version of Katalon)

[1564082972.004][INFO]: Starting ChromeDriver 74.0.3729.6 (255758eccf3d244491b8a1317aa76e1ce10d57e9-refs/branch-heads/3729@{#29})

Chrome is: Version 75.0.3770.142 (Official Build) (64-bit)
(I have also tried running this with ChromeDriver 75.0.3770.140 outside of Katalon, but same problem)

I rebooted the computer before capturing these logs to be sure there were no old chromedrivers running etc.

Chromedriver error: (**** and chrome runtime options from every potential fix I could find on the web…)