Random String generator for a text field?

Yes, it can be done with external JAR and written code, but i have no experience in writing code (i did not write for a few months now, and maybe someone has a solution ready)

Thanks!

Hi Francisc,

you can do it using standard Java libraries. Try this method:

String chars = "abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz0123456789"

public static String randomString(String chars, int length) {
  Random rand = new Random();
  StringBuilder sb = new StringBuilder();
  for (int i=0; i<length; i++) {
	sb.append(chars.charAt(rand.nextInt(chars.length())));
  }
  return sb.toString();
}

println randomString(chars, 10)

You can edit chars variable to set what characters should be in your final random string.

5 Likes

You can use third party libraries like Apache Commons Lang 3.5 for this purpose. It has many member functions to generate random strings like randomalphabetic(), randomalphanumeric(), randomnumeric(), etc. Also, you can use standard Java libraries for this purpose too.

Hi Marek Melocik:
How can I use your code in katalon? when I build a new keyword, copy your code, it always said error, and I cannot add the keyword in my cases.

@Marek Melocik said:
Hi Francisc,

String chars = "abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz0123456789"

public static String randomString(String chars, int length) {
	sb.append(chars.charAt(rand.nextInt(chars.length())));
  }
  return sb.toString();
}

println randomString(chars, 10)

You can edit chars variable to set what characters should be in your final random string.

2 Likes

freeman said:

Hi Marek Melocik:

How can I use your code in katalon? when I build a new keyword, copy your code, it always said error, and I cannot add the keyword in my cases.

@Marek Melocik said:

Hi Francisc,